Tuesday Night Glitz

No one does hotel bars quite like London. Besides the old school glamour and indulgence, I particularly love how they seem to always bring hospitality to a whole new level.

Last night was my first visit to Rivoli Bar at The Ritz, but it will definitely not be my last.

Spritz has been my go-to-drink all summer, so it was no surprise that The Blush caught my eye on the menu. It was so delicious, the perfect start to any evening, but particularly a late summer evening.

the blush

At some point during the last couple of years, I’ve realised that I really, really love tequila. However, with a few exceptions, I haven’t been a big fan of stirred tequila drinks. More often than not, I find them flat or not packing enough tequila punch. I mean, if you’re going to make a drink with tequila – why hide it?

This drink, Lord of Jalisco, is not one of those drinks. This was amazing!

Lord of Jalisco

One of the Signatures at Rivoli is the Ritz Manhattan. It comes in a beautiful vintage shaker, made especially for the hotel in the early 1900s, with the garnish resting on the side in a small silver jewellery box.
You can choose between 3 different aged finishes, orange& vanilla, red berries or allspice, all of them made in house.

Ritz ManhattanRitz Manhattan 2

They also have a selection of vintage spirits, and I was lucky enough to taste both Martini Rosso, Campari, Maraschino and Angostura Bitters from the 1940-1960’s. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

