Nordic Flavours|Nøgne Ø Beer

I love beer.
I’ve always loved beer, and in fact, up until a couple of years ago, beer was my drink of choice.  Of course, all that changed when I discovered I have gluten intolerance. Cruel.

Admittedly, I must confess I’m not the best at following my dietary restrictions, and from time to time I do still drink beer.

One of my favourite norwegian breweries is Nøgne Ø (Naked Island) from Grimstad, and throughout the years they’ve made some amazing brews. Here are some of my favourites:

The Tiger Tripel is light and strong , like you would expect , and for me it was love at first sip. I first tasted it in a blind tasting, and I was very surprised afterwards, learning what it was. Normally I would think this style to strong, and Tiger Triple with its 9%alc definitely needs to be sipped at a slow pace. It’s tough though, considering how delicious it is!

Nogne O

I first tasted the Citrus Hystrix IPA last year when I was preparing for a cocktail competition. I was hoping to use it as an ingredient in my drink, but unfortunately I later discovered it wasn’t allowed. Lucky for me it meant I suddenly had a couple of bottles to spare.

If you’re like me, Im a massive citrus freak when it comes to beers,  you’re going to love this IPA!
Its brewed with rye and oats – slightly dark for an IPA, and the citrus comes from tangerine and kaffir lime leafs.
nogne-o-citrus-hystrix-ipa-50cl-658925-s120

Last but not least, Red Horizon, an ale brewed with the famous sake yeast No.7 from Masumi Sake in Nagano. The beer is fermented slowly at a low temperature, giving it heaps of the characteristic fruitiness of the yeast. Nøgne ø has made several editions of this beer, last one being in 2011, but I don’t know if they plan to continue. Currently the 2nd and 3rd editions are still available in Norway.

It’s quite rich, and at 12,5%alc, its definitely a beer for sharing with a group of friends.
Nogne O

Leave a Reply

